Dependence Day?

While most of you in the U.S. are celebrating Independence Day, I am celebrating a new level of dependence.  Three weeks ago I stumbled at work.  I came down awkwardly first on one leg, then the other.  On leg number 2 I heard a loud crack…it was my 5th metatarsal (major foot bone).  I knew that leg one had some knee damage but it took 3 weeks, yes, you read that correctly, to get an MRI authorized.  I have a fracture of the tibia in the knee joint and a newly re-torn meniscus.  Groan…that’s the one just repaired 18 months ago.  Now I’m sporting the pneumatic cast boot on the left foot and this giant articulated brace contraption on the right.  Fortunately DH is a patient soul who takes very good care of me and still gets his golf in.  My friend has deeded me the wheelchair she inherited from her father.brace yourself

It goes without saying, I have too much time on my hands.  That means my brain is in overdrive.  I was thinking about independence.  It’s a good thing when we earn it from an oppressive or negative situation.  It is good to grow up and learn to be independent.  But in reality, we are all dependent upon one another to some degree.  When we depend on others who are caring and giving, that is a good thing as long as we don’t forget to return those deeds as we are able.

When our country earned it’s independence that was a good thing, but we had to depend on our fellow Americans.  Sadly, over the years we have become dependent on not only our fellow countrymen (and women) but on other countries as well.  Sometimes this is not in our best interest.  I’ll spare you my political rant.

Let me just close with this.  I hope all your dependencies are positive ones.  That those you depend on care for you and want the best for you.  I hope you in turn are dependable and caring.

My dear husband fought for this country.  So tomorrow, I will honor his service to buy my freedom.  I am proud to be an American.  And I will be grateful that he is someone I can rely on when I need him, klutz that I am.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

