A Quilt Comes Full Circle…well…almost!

Quilt

In the 8o’s my maternal grandmother, Iva Fredde,  pieced this quilt, by hand, from a kit.  The quality of the fabric is not fabulous…no moda fabrics then.  😉 But the time, love and care that went into the quilt was immense.  Late in the 80’s my grandmother had a series of strokes leaving her right side pretty much useless.  She wanted me to learn to quilt and to hand quilt her masterpiece.  I agreed. I adored my grandmother and she was the woman who patiently taught me to sew as a 6 year old.  So, under her tutelage I learned to hand quilt, picking out many stitches which she felt did not measure up.  I quilted on this as my mother died of cancer, keeping my hands busy while my mind buzzed.  I spent many hours sitting by her bed in a nursing home.  This year, I am 54, the same age as my mother when God took her home.

A few years later, Grandma died.  At that point the half finished quilt went into a large rubber maid tub where it remained.  I simply could not feel anything but grief as my hands held it.  Now, my cousin’s daughter Ginny will marry in June.  She loves pink, just like Grandma did.  So, I have pulled out the quilt and am finishing it.  I must meet the June deadline!  It will be Ginny’s wedding gift and a piece of our family heritage which she will hopefully treasure.

As I work on the quilt, I no longer feel grief.  I feel a wonderful connection to my grandmother and my extended family, and I look forward to the joy of sharing a part of my grandmother’s love with the next generation.

My plan in to find a nice modern print to bind this with…I think it needs that…any thoughts out there on this plan?  Any suggestions on just what fabric?  Hurry!  I have to work fast!

 

Technorati Tags: ,,

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liz A. for Arlo the Dalmatian
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 15:03:19

    Something like this came to mind as soon as I saw the quilt:
    http://www.hancocks-paducah.com/Item–i-GP-112-PINK

    or any other of a number of Kaffe Fassett’s fabrics. Or this one, it has a lot of the right colors:
    http://www.hancocks-paducah.com/Item–i-AH-6968-A

    I also love polka dots or a stripe or plaid on the bias.

    Reply

  2. Melanie
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 19:49:17

    I enjoyed your story of the quilt, you should pass that along with the quilt. I wish I knew how to go about a project like this, because I have one of my gr. grandma’s I’d like to do.

    Anyhow, I love the Alexander Henry one that Liz posted.

    If you wanted just dots, what about MM pink giddy dot, or citron dumb dot… http://www.michaelmillerfabrics.com/MMF/swatches/C274_Pink.jpg

    or one of the Amy Butler dots from the old line (green) comes to mind, but the new might be nice too with the dots not being perfectly round.

    good luck, I hope you get it all done on time. I’m sure it will be loved.

    Reply

  3. pauran
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 20:51:43

    I’d like the see the color right in the center, looks like a turquoise? or maybe that shade of purple or lavender — brought out the edge in the border.

    It’s a beautiful quilt and an ever more beautiful story. A 20-year old may not appreciate it now, but she will one day.

    Reply

  4. Natalie
    Apr 24, 2010 @ 15:46:45

    I was going to suggest Amy Butler’s Cherry Wallflower, but I love Liz’s suggestions way better! It is beautiful and I love that it is being passed down like this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

