From Bad to Worse

My feet have been hurting again and today I saw the podiatrist fully expecting photo(2) to be told I had to go back in ‘the boot’.  That knee length pump up thing I wore on my right foot for nearly a year when I had a stress fracture in my heel (calcaneous) that would not heal. Well, now in addition to the plantar fasciitis, the heel spurs and the arthritis rapidly degrading my feet, ankles and knees I have a ligament in both feet pulling the bone loose.  So, I’m braced…on both ankles for the indefinite future.  Then the feet go into intense athletic shoes with ‘super orthotics’.  If this doesn’t work it’s major surgery to clean up what we can and try to salvage a bit of foot for old age.

 

Ok…tonight I’m whining.  I’ve lost a few pounds and was dreaming of summer dresses.  I think I’d better just think pants. 

I will sew this weekend, my sanity demands it!

Loretta

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gwen
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 15:22:45

    I wonder if your problems are hereditary? Foot pain is just awful. I had Planters once, so I know how awful that feels. I have some arthritis in my ankles, but so far, it is managable. I hope you get some relief and feel better. Senidng good thoughts your way.

    Reply

  2. Anne-Marie
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 18:43:39

    Sounds painful! Crossing my fingers for the super orthotics and sending positive thoughts your way!

    Reply

  3. Bonnie
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 20:05:25

    I’m so sorry for you – hope the sewing can keep your mind off the pain.

    Reply

  4. teri
    Feb 06, 2010 @ 06:57:49

    ugh. i feel your pain….literally. my knee is screaming that it can’t wait for surgery until june, but, logistically, there is no way i can have it done sooner.

    perhaps if you are a really good girl and do what the doctor says, you can avoid surgery….

    Reply

  5. Mary Beth
    Feb 06, 2010 @ 12:33:00

    I am so sad to hear this, Loretta. It must be more than frustrating! I’m sending all my patience, what little of it there is, just straight to you!

    Reply

  6. Isabella
    Feb 06, 2010 @ 23:07:17

    Feel very sad to hear this!! sending best wishes for you..

    Reply

  7. fittingtips
    Feb 07, 2010 @ 20:00:34

    Ladies, thank you so much for your encouragement. I’m trying hard to snap out of the pitty party. No good ever comes from that. Sewing was not happening for me this weekend for a number of reasons but I’m back to sewing in my head.

    Reply

  8. Myrna
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 09:09:20

    LOL – Loretta, I would email you only I can’t find your address anywhere. Mine is on my blog and/or web page so email and I’ll answer. LOVE the idea of the elastic. I did order some but it may not be what I’m looking for so I’d love to compare.

    Talk soon – Myrna

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

