Warm Winter Coat Emerges From Stash

Last August when we moved, and the extent of my fabric inventory became fully apparent, I resolved to sew with what I had. We are visiting grandchildren in Kansas and I need a suitable winter coat. After nearly 17 years in the Nashville, TN area, I no longer own a coat that is suitable. I did have 4 yards of heavy navy blue wool melton, 5 yards of slate radiance, assorted tailoring supplies and a stack of Ottobre womens pattern magazines. I selected a princess line coat from the fall 2008 issue. The only changes I made were ditching the patch pockets over the tummy and replacing them with inseam pockets of cotton velveteen. A nice warm luxury. The radience makes an incredible lining. Slick enough to slide into the coat easily and nice and sturdy as well as all natural. My tailoring techniques are pretty much fusing and due to the weight of the wool applied only in the facing, neck and shoulder areas. It’s been tested as we drive across lower Missouri and found to be perfect! My only purchase was buttons and a spool of upholstery thread to sew them on with because the have metal shanks.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ann's Fashion Studio
    Dec 28, 2009 @ 17:16:03

    That is a Great looking coat! I like the color of the fabric.

    Reply

  2. Kathi
    Dec 28, 2009 @ 18:47:20

    Very pretty coat! Your pockets sound quite luxurious!

    Reply

  3. Gwen
    Dec 28, 2009 @ 20:08:13

    That’s a terrific coat, and to think it came from stash! Well, that definitely means you are due some new fabric to replace it!

    Reply

  4. Natalie
    Dec 28, 2009 @ 23:14:48

    Oh wow your coat is wonderful!! The radiance for lining and cotton velveteen pockets – you just can’t beat that for luxurious. I’m glad you were able to make good use of the radiance and will be able to enjoy it in your coat! It looks like the fit of the coat will be flattering.

    Reply

  5. fittingtips
    Dec 31, 2009 @ 11:48:06

    Thanks Ladies, I am enjoying the coat this week. So glad I have it here in Kansas with me. We have snow! Natalie, LOVE the radiance lining. Not as much of a luxury as you think. It will wear so much better than ambiance or something like that.

    Reply

  6. SALLY
    Jan 09, 2010 @ 09:45:49

    The coat is just beautiful. You sew beautifully. Just love it and wish it were hanging on my dress form!

    Reply

  7. Patricia Smith
    Jan 09, 2010 @ 14:00:05

    Loretta, the coat is wonderful! I am not familiar with radience, though…although it looks nice! Congrats for the stash reduction!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

