Bragging Rights!

Several weeks ago I was poking around on the Lark Books website and noticed a call for Artist Submissions for an upcoming book with the working title Sweet Nothings.  After a day or two of contemplation I decided to submit a proposal.  Today, I learned my proposal had been accepted.  This will be my first “appearance” in a book.  Somehow, that seems like a bigger deal than a magazine.  So…I have until September 1 to create the pattern, write the instructions and stitch up my prototype for the book.  Of course, there is always a possibility that the size of the projects will require some cutting, but for now…I am just reveling in the joy of being selected.

I can’t share my project here…but let’s just say it’s a cute little camisole that I have made before for my 12 yo DGD.

Here’s how Lark describes the upcoming book:

“Sweet Nothings (working title) will celebrate beautiful, sexy, and fun handmade lingerie. We seek projects that the experienced sewer can create at home, including camisoles, tap pants, panties, gowns, pajamas, bloomers, simple bras, and so on. We want the book to be a playful exploration of the form, but should include some luxury fabrics as well as funky designs. Our full-color, 128-page book will contain a section at the front explaining basic techniques, followed by 25 or so projects geared to experienced (intermediate) sewers. The projects should be made with a standard sewing machine or a serger, using readily available fabrics and trims.”

Another little joy for the day…butterflies sipping from the Stargazers…sipping from the stargazers

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Londa
    Jul 18, 2008 @ 05:25:25

    Congratulations! What excitement. Knowing you – it will be spectacular. Keep us posted….and have fun in the process!

    Reply

  2. Pamela Erny
    Jul 20, 2008 @ 08:47:16

    Loretta…I am so happy for you!!!! You have so much to share with the rest of the “sewing world”. Congratulations!

    Psst…stop by my blog to pick up a special “award”.

    ~Pam

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

