One for Goodwill

I completed the Hot Patterns  Miss Moneypenny Pussycat Blouse last evening.  While I admire the precise drafting of skills of Trudy, the patternmaker, the blouse was not a keeper for me.  I made the blouse of a crinkled rayon print that had been a long time stash dweller for me.  I learned a few things in the construction and so will consider the blouse a valuable sewing lesson but will not add it to my wardrobe.

Lesson 1:  Crinkle rayons can be  a bear to cut accurately but pinning them to tissue paper helps.  I used a sharp rotary cutter and managed to get a pretty good cut.  Once cut however, the rayon is quite forgiving.  If you need to ease, just pin in place, hit it with a stiff shot of steam and the fabric will shrink right into place.  Due to this characteristic and Trudy’s pricise drafting, the blouse was a dream to construct.  Even the sleeves went in like a dream without a single tuck to pick out and redo.

Lesson 2: Make a muslin…this blouse fabric, no longer being my best color, fell into this category.  I learned that to fit the pattern well in the future I would need to increase the sleeve circumference and omit the normal shortening of the bodice.  I think the draft was just created for a shorter top than I can wear comfortably out of a light fluttery fabric.  Since that is the desireable fabric for Miss Moneypenny’s Pusycat blouse, I would lengthen it if I were to make it again.  However, I doubt I will, the style just did not flatter my figure.  Thus…I will not show a photo of myself in the blouse on this site. 

Lesson 3:  When serging fine fabrics and erratic threadloops appear, apply your thread nets to the spools.  I simply forgot to install the nets and found my looper thread jumping every few stitches.  Installing the nets gave me a nice uniform serge.

For me, sewing is about the process as much as it is about the expanded wardrobe.  Therefore, I can cheerfully donate, a nicely made blouse to the local Goodwill bin and hope that it will fall into the hands of someone who will adore it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Frank
    Oct 11, 2007 @ 16:23:06

    oooh, great blog! In my typical manner, I’ll have to read from the beginning when I have some down time…

    xo
    Frank

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

