Virtual Sewing

I’m spending 10 days in Atlanta for the “day job”.  I really need a sewing fix but no machine here in the hotel room (possible mistake since I drove down) so I went idea shopping.  Decatur has some wonderful boutique shops.  Many items are imported so the sizes are unrealistic for me to consider buying (size large with a 36 in bust and hips…I kid you not!) but the ideas are fab.  Here are some of my favorite:

Lovely silk jackets…Dupioni silk…with stenciled geometric shapes.  I believe the stenciling was with a dye as it did not have an effect on the hand of the fabric…made in China.

Items from India…many raw edged trims in light weight chiffon or mesh knits.  A fabulous take on the twist top as a wrap around dress…think twist at the side waist.

A shop called the squash blossom where I purchased a pair of bobbi blu shoes to die for. These will require a lovely skirt to show them off properly.  Also seen were a Jacki O 60’s style faux fur leopard jacket with 3/4 sleeves…very chic.  A vest with insets of cable knitting…unique and getting my juices flowing again for an article proposal I have been intending to work up for a couple of years.  Peruvian knits in tunics.  Tunic tops with a kimono sleeve and a low cut neckline with camisoles or a long sleeved tee under neath.  These were knitted.  But I see sewn versions in my future.

Oh…and I must brag…Sew Stylish has reprinted my article “Sew Clothes that Keep on Fitting” in the fall issue.  I just love seeing my name in print!  Perhaps I’m a bit of an exibitionist.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. karenlepage
    Sep 05, 2007 @ 23:28:19

    I loved this article, Loretta, and am using your tips in my current project – a sewalong of Ottobre Women pants from the 02/2006 issue with the ottobre_english yahoo group.

    Reply

  2. fittingtips
    Sep 06, 2007 @ 18:35:20

    Thank you Karen…I love being an inspiration. Loretta

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

